2010 ANNUAL MEETING
ECONOMICS & POLITICAL SCIENCE PANEL 1 ( 8:30-10:00) RM: SCHWITZER 04 
Chair & Moderator: Jeffrey Woods, Economics & Business, University of Indianapolis 
  • Byun, Christie, “An Estimate of the Economic Valuation of Higher Water Quality in the Sugar Creek Watershed” (byunc@wabash.edu)
  • Christ, Kevin P. and Islam, Muhammad Q., “Further Tests of the Public Capital Hypothesis” (christ@rose-hulman.edu)
  • Kitaoka, Hisaya, “Have U.S. Import Tariff Reductions Expanded Wage Inequality during 1980-2000?” (HKitaoka@franklincollege.edu)
  • Srinivasan, Arun K., “Comparison of Academic Performance Among Different Learning Styles (Audio, Visual, and Kinesthetic) in Principle of Economics Course” (asriniva@ius.edu)
  • Smith, James M., “Urban Tourism and Urban Theory: Convention Center Expansion and Institutionalized Growth in Chicago” (jms21@iusb.edu)

HISTORY & POLITICAL SCIENCE PANEL 1 (8:30-10:00) RM: SCHWITZER 010 
Chair & Moderator: Bruce Bigelow, History & Anthropology Department, Butler University 
  • Babu, Bharath Ganesh, “Value of Geographic Information Technologies in Urban Monitoring and Mapping: Hyperspectral Remote Sensing of Terre Haute, Indiana” (bharath.GaneshBabu@valpo.edu)
  • Deno, Vivian, “Saving Lolita: Juvenile Delinquency and the Public in Progressive Era Indianapolis,” Department of History & Anthropology, Butler University (vdeno@butler.edu)
  • Jones, Kelly Hacker, “Vaccination: Who Should Decide When Doctors Disagree?—Muncie Smallpox Epidemic 1893,” History at Ball State (kellyhjones@gmail.com)
  • Young, Christopher, “Proclamations, Addresses, & Resolutions: George Washington, John Adams and the Emerging Popular Presidency in the 18th Century,” History Indiana University Northwest (cjy@iun.edu )
  • Hollander, Ethan, "International Hierarchy and the Final Solution," Wabash College (ethanhollander@gmail.com )

INTERNATIONAL STUDIES PANEL 1 (8:30-10:00) RM: SCHWITZER 05 
Chair & Moderator: Surekha Rao, Economics and Business, Indiana University Northwest 
  • Devaraj, Nirupama and Basu, Suchandra, “Collective Action: The Case of International Carbon Emissions” (Nirupama.Devaraj@valpo.edu) (sbasu@ric.edu)
  • Guentzel, Ralph P., “Coming Full Circle? Parties and Politics in Germany Since 1998” (RGuentzel@franklincollege.edu)
  • Randall , Theo, “Understanding the Personalistic Aspects of Contemporary Jola Ethnomedicine” (thrandal@iusb.edu)
  • Tobin, Kathleen A. , “Schooling for Development: Haitian Agricultural Education Under U.S. Occupation”S (Tobin@calumet.purdue.edu)
  • Woodwell, Douglas, “Modeling the Research Process,” (woodwelld@uindy.edu)

PSYCHOLOGY PANEL 1 (8:30-10:00) RM: SCHWITZER 011 
Chair & Moderator: Bernardo Carducci, Psychology Department, Indiana University Southeast 
  • Haleem, Aqueelah S., Carducci, Bernardo J., and Bowland, Sharon E. , “Survival Theology and the Social Role of the Church as Mediators Of Happiness Among Elderly African-Americans” (bcarducc@ius.edu) (ashal01@louisville.edu) (Sharon.Bowland@louisville.edu)
  • Coulter-Kern, Russell G., Fogle, Kelly L., Sibert, Harrison M., “The Effect of Online Quizzing on Understanding of Key Concepts in an Introduction to Psychology Course”(rgcoulter-kern@manchester.edu )
  • Gaither, George A. and Newby, Kaylee, “Are First-Year College Students More Stressed Out Than Other Students and How Can We Help Them in Introductory Psychology Courses?” (ggaither@bsu.edu)
  • Kreager, R.D., Crowell, C.R., and Villano, M.A., “Context Effects on Imitation: How Action Context Can Modulate Imitation Performance” (ryanliveshere@gmail.com)

SOCIOLOGY & POLITICAL SCIENCE PANEL (8:30-10:00) RM: SCHWITZER 012 
Chair & Moderator: Jonathan Swarts, Political Science Department, Purdue University North Central 
  • Aniskiewicz, Rick, ”Portraits” in the World of Organized Crime” (raniskie@iuk.edu)
  • Griffin, Andrea E. C., “Examining the Role of Race and Privilege in Emotional Display Rules Within Organizations” (griffane@iun.edu)
  • Vasquez, Paul, “Touchdown for Tilly!: The Symbiosis between American Military Institutions and College Football” (vasquezp@wabash.edu )
  • Bartky, Elliot, “What’s Wrong With the Right?” (bartky@ipfw.edu )
  • Kovach, Ronald, “Richard Weavers: Importance to the Secularization Debate” (kovachr@calumet.purdue.edu)

ECONOMICS 2 (10:15-11:30) RM: SCHWITZER 04 
Chair & Moderator: Jaishankar Raman, Economics, Valparaiso University 
  • Kumar, T. Krishna, “Strategic Interaction in Macroeconomic Policies: An Application of Differential Game Theory (tkkumar@gmail.com)
  • Main, Robert S. and Grossman, Peter Z., “Optimal Pollution Enforcement – The EPA’s New CAFO Rules” (rmain@butler.edu) (pgrossma@butler.edu)
  • McGrath , Paul, “A Decade of Housing Investment in Indiana” (pmcgrat@calumet.purdue.edu)
  • Anbu, Brighton, “East Wind for Healthy Living,” Visiting Scholar, Valparaiso University c/o (brightanbu@gmail.com )

INTERNATIONAL STUDIES PANEL 2 (10:15-11:30) RM: SCHWITZER 05 
Chair & Moderator: Jeffrey Woods, Economics & Business, University of Indianapolis
  • Woodward, Lucinda, and Galvin, Peter, Ph.D. , “Ten Years Post-conflict in Perspective: On the State of Mental Health Care in Liberia” (Luwoodwa@ius.edu) (Pgalvin@ius.edu)
  • Zhuk, Dr. Sergei , “Between Moscow and the West: Constructing the Soviet Self in the American Studies in Soviet Russia and Ukraine during Late Socialism (1956-1991)” (sizuh@bsu.edu)
  • Gurtunca, Esen, “European Union-Recent Developments and Prospects,” Economics-Business, University of Indianapolis (egurtunca@uindy.edu )
  • Bradley, M. Todd , “Chinese-built Dams, Africa & Economic Growth: Is There a Role for African NGOs” Indiana University, Kokomo (mtbradle@iuk.edu)
PSYCHOLOGY PANEL 2 (10:15-11:30) RM: SCHWITZER 011 
Chair & Moderator: Diane Wille, Psychology &Behavioral Sciences, Indiana University Southeast 
  • Manson, Todd M. and Malachosky, Drew E., “Job Applicant Faking on Personality Measures Across Jobs” (tmanson@ius.edu)
  • Traughber, Benjamin D. and Carducci, Bernardo J., “Instrumental Goal Pursuit as an Individual Difference Dimension in the Seeking of Happiness” (bdtraugh@umail.iu.edu (bcarducc@ius.edu)
  • Wille, Diane E., “Using the Family Systems Model to Investigate the Relation Between Parental Sensitivity and Infant Attachment” (dwille@ius.edu)
  • Blake, Michelle Emery and Pieper, Hanns G., “An Analysis of Indiana Nursing Home Outcome Data” (mb187@evansville.edu) (dp5@evansville.edu ) 
PSYCHOLOGY PANEL 3 (10:15-11:30) RM: SCHWITZER 012 
Chair & Moderator: Christine M. Raches, Psychology Department, University of Indianapolis
  • Moody, Rebecca S. and Carducci, Bernardo J., “Seeking Happiness by Students with High Positive Affect and Low Social Affliation: A Look at Being a HIPe” (bcarducc@ius.edu) (rsmoody@umail.iu.edu)
  • Drapeau, Chris , “Creativity and Thoughts of Self-Harm in College Students” (cdrapeau@umail.iu.edu)
  • Simon-Dack, Stephanie, “ Differences in Auditory Spatial Processing between the Sexes” (slsimondack@bsu.edu)
  • Raches, Christine M., Assistant Professor of Psychology, University of Indianapolis, 317-788-8030; Undergraduate Students, Heather Verdon, Megan Monday, and Shayna Smith, University of Indianapolis, Title: Autism in Early Childhood: Assessment & Diagnosis- A review of data (craches@uindy.edu)
Keynote Speaker 11:45-12:30 Schwitzer 010 
James B. Dworkin, Ph.D. , Chancellor, Purdue University North Central 
“Evolving Labor Markets – Impacts on Indiana and Beyond” 

Synopsis: This talk will focus on current sweeping labor market changes with particular emphasis on the implications for the future of our work force and jobs in the Indiana economy and beyond. Topics covered include employment trends, unemployment and the future role for labor unions. 

LUNCH AND ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING 12:45-2:00 UIndy Hall A 

Student Panels

Panel 1: Sociology, PSYCHOLOGY & Political Science (2:15-3:45) RM: Schwitzer 04 
Chair & Moderator: Ken Colburn, Sociology & Criminology Department, Butler University 
  • Simpson, Sarah R., “Case Study: “Hot” Apartment Complexes in Indianapolis ,” Butler University (srwilhel@butler.edu)
  • Sheehan, Kate, “The Relationship Between Perceived Body Image, Peer Pressure and Binge Drinking Behavior Among College Students” Butler University (khsheeha@butler.edu)
  • Johnson, Derek, “Obesity, Poverty, and Politics: A Socio-Economic Analysis (demijohn@umail.iu.edu)
  • Prengel, Dan, “Spreading the Word: The 2008 Democratic Primary Campaign and Candidate Appearances” (dprenge@gmail.com)
  • Jones, Andrea, "Understanding the Interaction between Exposure to, Attitudes toward and Knowledge of Suicide" Suicide Research Team, Indiana University South Bend (afj@umail.iu.edu)
PANEL 2: HISTORY & ANTHROPOLOGY (2:15-3:30) RM: Schwitzer 05 
Chair & Moderator: Bruce Bigelow, History & Anthropology Department, Butler University 
  • Follett, Matthew, “Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, 1945-2010: A Look at Residential, Municipal and Industrial Growth” (mfollett@bsu.edu) History at Ball State
  • Krus, Tony, “Multiscalar Study of Mississippian Fortifications” (anthonymkrus@gmail.com)
  • Oswalt, Jessica, “A Family- and Community-Based Society: An Analysis of the Redford Temperance Society” (jloswalt@bsu.edu)
  • Craig, Kat, “Zoological Gardens, the Era of Showmanship and Susie at the Cincinnati Zoo, 1931-1948" History, Ball State University (kat4@bsu.edu)
PANEL 3: INTERNATIONAL STUDIES 1 (2:15-3:30) RM: Schwitzer 011 
Chair & Moderator: Jonathan Swarts, Political Science Department, Purdue University North Central
  • Bechtel, Corey L., “Education Policy, Economic Growth & Human Development in the Newly Industrialized Countries of Southeast Asia” (cbechtel@purdue.edu )
  • Carranza Ko, Nusta, “A Comparative Study on Constitutional Revisions in the Decade of 2000 to 2010 in South America” (ncarranz@purdue.edu)
  • Coleman, Kevin P., Family Photographs of Arab-Christian Immigrants in Honduras” (kecolema@indiana.edu)
  • McKinley, Lincoln J., “Centrality of the State in a Globalized World: The Effect of Integration on US Military Aid to Latin America” (lmckinl@purdue.edu)
PANEL 4: INTERNATIONAL STUDIES 2 (2:15-3:15) RM: Schwitzer 012 
Chair & Moderator: Cliff Staten, Political Science Department, Indiana University Southeast 
  • Mercado, Christopher D., “Redefining Legitimate Authority: Just War in the Era of Terrorism” (cmercado01@qub.ac.uk)
  • Mouser, Brandon L., “The War-Genocide Paradox: An Analysis of Iraq’s Offensive Against the Kurds” (blmouser@umail.iu.edu)
  • Szymanski, Michael R., “Frankenstein” (ms00295@gmail.com)