The purpose of the IASS Faculty Research Award is to assist faculty members in scholarly achievement by providing a portion of their research expenses for the development of new or continuation of existing research projects.

Two awards of $500 each will be awarded per award cycle towards meeting travel and material expenses pertaining to the research project. Applications are due on July 31, 2019. Awards will be announced on September 1, 2019.

Any questions should be directed to the Faculty Award Committee at

Application and Submission Process:

  • Email the following to

  • A Word or PDF document with the following information (not to exceed 3 double-spaced pages)

  • Applicant's contact information

  • Statement of the Problem

  • Plan of Research

  • Names and contact information of 2 professional referees

  • Email a Word or PDF document with your recent Curriculum Vitae

  • File names name should be named using the following convention:

  • Application (example): Smith_John_App.docx

  • Curriculum Vitae (example): Smith_John_CV.docx


  • Applicants must be current members of IASS

  • Applicants must be full-time faculty members (research or tenure-track)

  • Applicants may not submit for this award in two successive years

  • Board members of IASS are ineligible for this award

  • Applicants are expected to present their research findings at the IASS Annual Meeting closest to the award year


The George C. Roberts Award is an annual award given to the author who, in the sole assessment of the IASS Board, has written the best article for publication in the Indiana Academy of Social Sciences Journal. This award was established in 1990 in honor of Dr. George C. Roberts who served as editor of the esteemed journal (then entitled “Proceedings of the Indiana Association for Social Sciences”) from 1980-1990. Dr. Roberts is a Professor Emeritus of Indiana University Northwest where he taught Political Science for many years.


The J. Carl Metz Award is an award to be given by the sole judgment of the IASS Board on an as-determined basis. The J. Carl Metz Award is given as recognition for service to the Indiana Academy of Social Sciences. The award was established in honor of Dr. J. Carl Metz who served as Treasurer of the Academy. Dr. Metz taught Political Science at Hanover College.